|Mon-Fri, Jun 8 - Jun 15|
Driver Education Behind-the-Wheel (BTW)Driver Education Behind-the-Wheel (BTW)(Prerequisite: Must have completed 30 hours of classroom instruction, be 15 years old and in possession of your learner's permit.)The second phase of driver education consists of 6 hours hands-on instruction. As long as a student is enrolled in a classroom session, they can enroll for BTW. Registering for BTW allows the student to receive their permit as soon as they complete classroom and are at least 15 years old. You must be enrolled in a behind-the-wheel course before you can apply for your instruction permit; however, you cannot begin this course until you obtain your permit. If you do not have your learner's permit before your first driving lesson, you must contact Community Education to reschedule.* Student must have their permit with them for each driving session. If you forget your permit you cannot drive and that counts as a no show resulting in a fee.**Due to high demand and the need for advanced registrations all transfers will incur a $20 charge per occurrence. Missed driving sessions will be charged $30 per occurrence and may result in the need to reschedule to a later session, resulting in an additional $20 change fee. Please check your household schedule BEFORE registering.For most sessions, you are driving for all six dates listed, except for sessions H and J. These are flexible month blocks where the instructor will contact you directly to arrange 6 hours of driving time to occur sometime within the block. Download and bring the Parental Approval Form to your first lesson.
Driver Education Classroom (ages 14 1/2 and older)Learn to drive safely and with confidence in preparation for your Minnesota provisional driver’s license. Participants who are at least 14 1/2 years old begin with the 30-hour classroom instruction to prepare for the written test. After turning age 15 and passing the learner's permit test, take the six-hour behind-the-wheel instruction. All instructors are licensed teachers and licensed driver education teachers. The first phase of driver education, 30 hours of in-class instruction prepares students for the knowledge (learner's permit) test. Students will increase their understanding of basic skills, principles, and processes of responsible driving. Areas of concentration include driver’s rights and responsibilities, alcohol and other drugs, signs-signals-road markings, rules of the road, safe driving tips, Minnesota traffic laws, and limitations for teen drivers. New AAA Driver Training Program curriculum emphasizing the latest concepts in driver safety.Due to high demand, any changes or cancellations to registrations once registered will incur a $20 charge per occurrence. Please check your family calendars before selecting a session.
Point of Impact (Parents and their new teen drivers)Participation reduces required practice driving time from 50 to 40 hours. The hours are recorded on the newly required driving log that must be submitted prior to taking the driver’s test (effective Jan. 2015).Newly licensed teen drivers are not necessarily safe drivers. Parents are the first and best source for teaching their children. Safe driving skills are developed over time and a parent’s role continues even after they receive their license. Traffic crashes are the leading killer of Minnesota teens. Inexperience, distractions, risk taking and poor seat belt compliance are the primary factors. Learn the importance of playing a role in developing the safe driving skills of your youth. View a video that presents stories of Minnesota youth and families impacted by crashes. Please register both teen and parent(s) when registering for this course.