Driver Education Behind-the-Wheel (BTW)
Prerequisite: At least 15 years of age and have completed Driver Education Classroom*
*As long as a student is enrolled in a classroom session, they can also enroll for BTW. Doing so allows the student who is at least 15 to take their knowledge test as soon as they complete classroom. Students must pass their knowledge test and be in possession of their learner's permit prior to their first scheduled driving lesson.
Minors must be enrolled in a behind-the-wheel program before they can take the knowledge test to obtain their instructional permit. Being on a waitlist does not qualify you to receive a blue card.
The second phase of driver education consists of 6 hours hands-on, behind-the-wheel instruction. Licensed staff will guide students through proper driving techniques and skills including right and left turns, 90-degree backing, parallel parking, traffic lights and stop signs, lane changes, one-way, right of way, emergency stop, and much more.
Lesson Information: All lessons start and end at Centennial High School West Building. Once you have your learner's permit, you will be connected with an instructor who will arrange a mutually agreed upon schedule to complete your 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. Lessons with Craig Sturlaugson and Matt Fenno are one-on-one for three, 2-hour lessons; lessons with Mickey Bluedorn are two-on-one for six, 2-hour lessons with one hour driving and one hour observing.
Space is very limited for behind-the-wheel lessons. If you are unable to secure a behind-the-wheel enrollment through Centennial, please look for a full listing of public and private school program locations, as well as licensed driver training school locations in the state of Minnesota, for both phases of the driver education instruction process. Please visit Driver and Vehicle Services, a division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
To schedule a knowledge test, go to drive.mn.gov, and follow the prompts. We have heard that these appointments may schedule out some distance.
Bring the correct documentation to your appointment and don't forget to pre-apply for your learner's permit to save time at the DMV office.
There are no refunds or cancellations allowed due to the restrictions imposed by Minnesota Law. Once registered for BTW and in possession of your blue card, you must remain in an active BTW session.
Changes to enrollment are very difficult as this program fills quickly leaving little to no room for rescheduling. If we are able to make a change, it will involve a $20 fee.
If you have been unable to pass the knowledge test, you must contact Community Education or your driving instructor immediately to avoid a penalty.
Student must have their permit with them for each driving session. If you forget your permit you cannot drive, that counts as a no show resulting in an $82 fee.